MINNEAPOLIS – August 17, 2023.  Winthrop & Weinstine, P.A., is pleased to announce that 51 of its attorneys have been selected by their peers for inclusion in The Best Lawyers in America© 2024, with two attorneys recognized as “Lawyer of the Year” in their practices: Thomas H. Boyd and Eric Swanson. In addition, 21 attorneys have been included in the list of Best Lawyers: Ones to Watch. The recognized attorneys are:

The recognized attorneys are:

Name Area Recognized
David M. Aafedt Administrative/Regulatory Law
Healthcare Law
Insurance Law
Jeffrey R. Ansel Arbitration
Commercial Litigation
Litigation – Banking and Finance
Litigation – Real Estate
Litigation – Trusts and Estates
Jonathan W.J. Armour Real Estate Law
Timothy M. Barnett Corporate Law
Franchise Law
Daniel C. Beck Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights / Insolvency and Reorganization Law
Robert E. Box, Jr. Business Organizations (including LLCs and Partnerships)
Tax Law
Thomas H. Boyd Appellate Practice
Bet-the-Company Litigation
Commercial Litigation
Litigation – Insurance*
Litigation – Trusts and Estates
Aimée D. Dayhoff Litigation – Labor and Employment
Tammera R. Diehm Eminent Domain and Condemnation Law
Land Use and Zoning Law
Municipal Law
Real Estate Law
James W. Dierking Banking and Finance Law
Real Estate Law
Jeffrey Drennan Real Estate Law
Edward J. Drenttel Banking and Finance Law
Christianna Finnern Health Care Law
Gerald Fornwald Commercial Litigation
Thomas J. Hanson Government Relations Practice
Jon J. Hoganson Banking and Finance Law
Real Estate Law
John C. Holper Construction Law
Litigation – Construction
Scott Jahnke Real Estate Law
Katherine A. Johnson Real Estate Law
Mark T. Johnson Corporate Law
Mergers & Acquisitions Law
Norman L. Jones III Real Estate Law
Thomas J. Kettleson Banking and Finance Law
Brent A. Lorentz Commercial Litigation
Christina Rieck Loukas Commercial Litigation
Litigation – Real Estate
Paul W. Markwardt Real Estate Law
Tax Law
Erin Mathern Real Estate Law
Matthew R. McBride Commercial Litigation
Kevin McLain Construction Law
Litigation – Real Estate
Real Estate Law
Anton J. Moch Banking and Finance Law
David E. Moran Mergers & Acquisitions Law
John D. Nolde Real Estate Law
David P. Pearson Commercial Litigation
Insurance Law
Litigation – Insurance
Jeffrey A. Peterson Banking and Finance Law
Jon L. Peterson Real Estate Law
Tax Law
Laura A. Pfeiffer Employment Law – Individuals
Employment Law – Management
Mark A. Pihart Employment Law – Management
Litigation – Labor & Employment
Brooks F. Poley Commercial Litigation
John C. Redpath Corporate Law
Ryan J. Schildkraut Mergers and Acquisitions Law
Elizabeth Schmiesing Administrative/Regulatory Law
Energy Law
Environmental Law
Catherine L. Sjoberg Real Estate Law
Andrew J. Steil Litigation – Banking and Finance
Litigation – Bankruptcy
John M. Stern Real Estate Law
Holly A. Stocker Banking and Finance Law
Eric F. Swanson Administrative/Regulatory Law*
Energy Law
Energy Regulatory Law*
Todd B. Urness Real Estate Law
Tax Law
Michele D. Vaillancourt Business Organizations (including LLCs and Partnerships)
Corporate Law
Mergers & Acquisitions Law
Thomas A. Walker Employee Benefits (ERISA) Law
Dean D. Willer Corporate Law
Joseph M. Windler Commercial Litigation
Douglas S. Wolgamot Trusts & Estates

* denotes “Lawyer of the Year” in this practice area.  “Lawyer of the Year” honors are awarded annually to only one lawyer per practice area in each region with extremely high overall feedback from their peers, making it an exceptional distinction.

The following attorneys were listed in Best Lawyers: Ones to Watch, recognitions given to attorneys who are earlier in their careers for outstanding professional excellence in private practice in the United States. “Ones to Watch” recipients typically have been in practice for 5-9 years.

Name Area Recognized
Wade C. Adamson Real Estate Law
Shawn Alexander Real Estate Law
Tax Law
Raha Assadi-Lamouki Banking and Finance Law
Real Estate Law
Jacob R. Bean Real Estate Law
Tax Law
Olivia M. Cooper Commercial Litigation
Litigation – Labor and Employment
Lisa B. Ellingson Commercial Litigation
Edward “Teddy” J. Fleming Corporate Law
Devon C. Holstad Commercial Litigation
Christopher Hussey Corporate Law
Mergers and Acquisitions Law
Steven Kool Real Estate Law
Tax Law
Amber L. Kraemer Banking and Finance Law
Mergers and Acquisitions Law
Kyle Kroll Appellate Practice
Commercial Litigation
Jessica Timmington Lindstrom Elder Law
Trusts and Estates
Cornelius “Neil” Mahoney Real Estate Law
Tax Law
Paul Manda Real Estate Law
Tax Law
Joshua Noah Real Estate Law
Tax Law
Joseph J.W. Phelps Real Estate Law
Tax Law
Catherine M. Riihiluoma Real Estate Law
Tax Law
Matthew Robinson Commercial Litigation
Insurance Law
Robert P. Singleton Real Estate Law
Tax Law
Samuel J. Thompson Real Estate Law
Tax Law

Best Lawyers is the oldest and most respected peer-review publication company in the legal profession. Recognition by Best Lawyers is widely regarded by both clients and legal professionals as a significant honor, conferred on a lawyer by their peers.

The lists of outstanding lawyers are compiled by conducting exhaustive peer review surveys in which tens of thousands of leading lawyers confidentially evaluate their professional peers. If the votes for a lawyer are positive enough for recognition by Best Lawyers, that lawyer must maintain those votes in subsequent polls to remain in each edition. Lawyers are not permitted to pay any fee to participate in or be recognized by Best Lawyers.