MINNEAPOLIS – August 18, 2022.  Winthrop & Weinstine, P.A., is pleased to announce that 46 of its attorneys have been selected by their peers for inclusion in The Best Lawyers in America© 2023, with two attorneys recognized as “Lawyer of the Year” in their practices: Jeffrey R. Ansel and Thomas H. Boyd. In addition, 15 attorneys have been included in the list of Best Lawyers: Ones to Watch.

The recognized attorneys are:

Name Area Recognized
David M. Aafedt Administrative/Regulatory Law
Insurance Law
Jeffrey R. Ansel Arbitration
Commercial Litigation
Litigation – Banking and Finance*
Litigation – Real Estate
Jonathan W.J. Armour Real Estate Law
Timothy M. Barnett Corporate Law
Franchise Law
Daniel C. Beck Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights / Insolvency and Reorganization Law
Robert E. Box, Jr. Business Organizations (including LLCs and Partnerships
Tax Law
Thomas H. Boyd Appellate Practice
Bet-the-Company Litigation*
Commercial Litigation
Litigation – Insurance
Litigation – Trusts and Estates
Philip T. Colton Securities / Capital Markets Law
Aimée D. Dayhoff Litigation – Labor and Employment
Tammera R. Diehm Eminent Domain and Condemnation Law
Land Use and Zoning Law
Municipal Law
Real Estate Law
James W. Dierking Real Estate Law
Jeffrey Drennan Banking and Finance Law
Real Estate Law
Edward J. Drenttel Banking and Finance Law
Christianna Finnern Health Care Law
Gerald Fornwald Commercial Litigation
Thomas J. Hanson Health Care Law
Jon J. Hoganson Banking and Finance Law
Real Estate Law
John C. Holper Banking and Finance Law
Litigation – Construction
Katherine A. Johnson Real Estate Law
Mark T. Johnson Corporate Law
Mergers & Acquisitions Law
Norman L. Jones III Real Estate Law
Thomas J. Kettleson Banking and Finance Law
Brent A. Lorentz Commercial Litigation
Christina Rieck Loukas Litigation – Real Estate
Paul W. Markwardt Real Estate Law
Erin Mathern Real Estate Law
Matthew R. McBride Real Estate Law
Kevin McLain Real Estate Law
Anton J. Moch Banking and Finance Law
David E. Moran Mergers & Acquisitions Law
John D. Nolde Real Estate Law
David P. Pearson Commercial Litigation
Insurance Law
Litigation – Insurance
Jon L. Peterson Real Estate Law
Tax Law
Laura A. Pfeiffer Employment Law – Individuals
Employment Law – Management
Mark A. Pihart Employment Law – Management
Litigation – Labor & Employment
Brooks F. Poley Commercial Litigation
Michael A. Rosow Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights / Insolvency and Reorganization Law
Real Estate Law
Elizabeth Schmiesing Energy Law
Environmental Law
Catherine L. Sjoberg Real Estate Law
Eric F. Swanson Administrative/Regulatory Law
Energy Law
Energy Regulatory Law
Todd B. Urness Real Estate Law
Tax Law
Michele D. Vaillancourt Business Organizations (including LLCs and Partnerships)
Corporate Law
Mergers & Acquisitions Law
Thomas A. Walker Employee Benefits (ERISA) Law
Douglas S. Wolgamot Trusts & Estates


* denotes “Lawyer of the Year” in this practice area.  “Lawyer of the Year” honors are awarded annually to only one lawyer per practice area in each region with extremely high overall feedback from their peers, making it an exceptional distinction.

The following attorneys were listed in Best Lawyers: Ones to Watch, recognitions given to attorneys who are earlier in their careers for outstanding professional excellence in private practice in the United States. “Ones to Watch” recipients typically have been in practice for 5-9 years.

Name Area Recognized
Wade C. Adamson Real Estate Law
Shawn Alexander Tax Law
Raha Assadi-Lamouki Banking and Finance Law
Jacob R. Bean Real Estate Law
Tax Law
Olivia M. Cooper Commercial Litigation
Catherine M. Cumming Real Estate Law
Tax Law
Lisa B. Ellingson Commercial Litigation
Devon C. Holstad Commercial Litigation
Christopher Hussey Mergers and Acquisitions Law
Amber L. Kraemer Banking and Finance Law
Kyle Kroll Appellate Practice
Commercial Litigation
Jessica Timmington Lindstrom Elder Law
Trusts and Estates
Joseph J.W. Phelps Real Estate Law
Tax Law
Matthew Robinson Commercial Litigation
Robert P. Singleton Real Estate Law
Tax Law


Since it was first published in 1983, Best Lawyers® has become universally regarded as the definitive guide to legal excellence. Best Lawyers lists are compiled based on an exhaustive peer-review evaluation. More than 116,000 industry leading lawyers are eligible to vote (from around the world), and we have received more than 17 million evaluations on the legal abilities of other lawyers based on their specific practice areas around the world.

For the 2023 edition of The Best Lawyers in America®, more than 12.2 million votes were analyzed, which resulted in more than 71,000 leading lawyers honored in the new edition.

Lawyers are not required nor allowed to pay a fee to be listed; therefore, inclusion in Best Lawyers is considered a singular honor.