MINNEAPOLIS—August 20, 2020.  Winthrop & Weinstine, P.A., is pleased to announce that thirty-three of its attorneys have been selected by their peers for inclusion in The Best Lawyers in America© 2021, with two attorneys recognized as “Lawyer of the Year” in their practices: John A. Knapp and Eric F. Swanson. In addition, five attorneys have been included in the inaugural edition of Ones to Watch. The recognized attorneys are:

Name Area Recognized
David M. Aafedt Administrative/Regulatory Law
Insurance Law
Jeffrey R. Ansel Arbitration
Commercial Litigation
Litigation – Banking and Finance
Litigation – Real Estate
Jonathan W.J. Armour Real Estate Law
Timothy M. Barnett Corporate Law
Franchise Law
Daniel C. Beck Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights / Insolvency and Reorganization Law
Thomas H. Boyd Appellate Practice
Bet-the-Company Litigation
Commercial Litigation
Litigation – Trusts and Estates
Philip T. Colton Securities / Capital Markets Law
David A. Davenport Commercial Litigation
Tammera R. Diehm Eminent Domain and Condemnation Law
Land Use and Zoning Law
Municipal Law
Real Estate Law
James W. Dierking Real Estate Law
Edward J. Drenttel Banking and Finance Law
Christianna Finnern Health Care Law
Jon J. Hoganson Banking and Finance Law
Real Estate Law
Justin Jenkins Litigation – Trusts & Estates
Mark T. Johnson Corporate Law
Mergers & Acquisitions Law
Norman L. Jones III Real Estate Law
Thomas J. Kettleson Banking & Finance Law
John A. Knapp Administrative/Regulatory Law
Government Relations Practice
Insurance Law*
Anton J Moch Banking and Finance Law
David E. Moran Mergers & Acquisitions Law
John D. Nolde Real Estate Law
David P. Pearson Commercial Litigation
Insurance Law
Jon L. Peterson Real Estate Law
Tax Law
Laura A. Pfeiffer Employment Law – Individuals
Employment Law – Management
Mark A. Pihart Employment Law – Management
Litigation – Labor & Employment
Brooks F. Poley Commercial Litigation
Michael A. Rosow Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights / Insolvency and Reorganization Law
Elizabeth Schmiesing Energy Law
Environmental Law
Eric F. Swanson Administrative/Regulatory Law
Energy Law*
Energy Regulatory Law
Todd B. Urness Real Estate Law
Tax Law
Michele D. Vaillancourt Corporate Law
Mergers & Acquisitions Law
Thomas A. Walker Employee Benefits (ERISA) Law
Douglas S. Wolgamot Trusts & Estates

* denotes “Lawyer of the Year” in this practice area.

The following attorneys were listed in the inaugural edition of Ones to Watch, recognitions given to attorneys who are earlier in their careers for outstanding professional excellence in private practice in the United States. “Ones to Watch” recipients typically have been in practice for 5-9 years.

Name Area Recognized
Catherine M. Cumming Tax Law
Christopher Hussey Corporate Law
Mergers and Acquisitions Law
Katherine A. Johnson Real Estate Law
Jessica Timmington Lindstrom Elder Law
Matthew Robinson Commercial Litigation


Since it was first published in 1983, Best Lawyers® has become universally regarded as the definitive guide to legal excellence. Best Lawyers lists are compiled based on an exhaustive peer-review evaluation. Almost 94,000 industry leading lawyers are eligible to vote (from around the world), and we have received over 11 million evaluations on the legal abilities of other lawyers based on their specific practice areas around the world. For the 2021 Edition of The Best Lawyers in America©, 8.3 million votes were analyzed, which resulted in more than 62,000 leading lawyers being included in the new edition. Lawyers are not required or allowed to pay a fee to be listed; therefore inclusion in Best Lawyers is considered a singular honor. Corporate Counsel magazine has called Best Lawyers “the most respected referral list of attorneys in practice.”